ICC EAP update

Over the past few months, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has run an East Asia-Pacific High Performance Webinar Series.

The East Asia-Pacific region for cricket consists of 11 ICC Members – Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, South Korea, Philippines, Fiji, Vanuatu, Samoa and the Cook Islands.  The purpose of the webinar series was to help set up global cricket for success in 2021 and beyond. The ICC is aiming to develop cricket-engaged markets, which in the long term will drive the sustainability and the economy of cricket in the Asia-Pacific region. The high performance series covered all the big topics including leadership, coaching, to systems and selection, through to executing a World Cup Tournament Campaign.

The series was extremely timely as Papua New Guinea (along with Australia and New Zealand) prepare for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, hosted by the BCCI in Oman and the UAE starting in October.