World Cross Country Championships

The first World Athletics Series event held in the region since 1996, was an outstanding success, with 88 athletes from 12 Oceania Member Federations starting in the event held at the Mount Panorama Racetrack in Bathurst, NSW. The crowds came out in force, despite the hot weather for the early races and were treated to an iconic Aussie course complete with “Bondi Beach, the Boomerang and the Billabong”.

The highlight of the day for Oceania was in the first race; the Mixed Relay. Two men and two women from each country complete one lap of the course, which is approximately 2km in length. Oli Hoare, the Area Mile Record Holder, led off for the Australian team, but it was Jess Hull who got the large crowd excited when she took the lead in the second leg. Stewart McSweyn and Abby Caldwell brought the team home strongly as they held on for a Bronze Medal; the first for the Oceania region in that event.

The challenging weather conditions took their toll on the athletes in the early races, most notably for the Women’s U20 Race, where there were double figures of athletes who couldn’t finish the race.   A storm was rolling in during the women’s race, resulting in the men’s race being brought forward by twenty minutes. This meant some athletes were stopped on course and will be awarded a finishing place.

The men’s race was drama filled with the course being closed due to safety reasons after 37 minutes of running. This meant a number of athletes were stopped from completing the course and they will be awarded a finishing place.

A full list of Oceania Federation entries can be found below:


Andrew Buchanan, Rorey Hunter, Stewart McSweyn, Matthew Ramsden, Jack Rayner, Brett Robinson, Ky Robinson, Andre Waring, Jack Coomber, Lachlan Cornelius, Bailey Habler, Logan Janetzki, Cael Mulholland, Archie Noakes, Flynn Pumpa, Ciaran Rushton, Caitlin Adams, Isobel Batt-Doyle, Holly Campbell, Rose Davies, Georgia Hansen, Amelia Mazza-Downie, Ellie Pashley, Leanne Pompeani, Aspen Anderson, Amy Bunnage, Charli Rose Carlyon, Emme De Jong, Claudia Meaker, Gabrielle Schmidt, Fieke Van Der Kamp, Gabrielle Vincent, Callum Davies, Oliver Hoare, Sarah Billings, Abbey Caldwell, Linden Hall, Jessica Hull.


Andrew Logan, Maya Postrzygacz.


Benjamin Ashkettle, Pramesh Prasad, Jeremiah Singh, Evueli Toia, Akeneta Lutu, Pratik Counder, Sailasa Moala, Adi Am Masau, Adi Fulori Masau.


Ryan Mitienzo, Hugh Kent.


Teiote Betero, Betty Teuei.


Bildad Bildad.


Koszta Deszecsar.


Nathania Tan.


Katherine Camp, Lisa Cross, Sarah Drought, Hannah Miller, Emily Roughan, Kerry White, Bella Earl, Catherine Lund, Mackenzie Morgan, Boh Ritchie, Eric Speakman, Samuel Tanner, Rebekah Greene, Anneke Grogan.


Dilu Goiye, James Gundu, Siune Kagl, Abel Siune, Israel Takap, Aquila Turalom, Ongani Awa, Aina Goir, Scholastica Herman, Mary Kua, Mary Tenge.


Damien Troquenet, Laurian Bisch.


Martin Faeni, Gregory Foasilafu, Rosefelo Siosi, Dianah Matekali, Sharon Firisua.